Keystone Insurers Group Realigns Top Management Roles

Keystone Insurers Group (KIG), the fourth largest privately held property/casualty firm in the nation, today announced the hiring of five new executives and a restructuring of its top management team, a move the company said will facilitate growth, enhance services and take advantage of emerging market opportunities. KIG operates under a franchise platform, conducting operations in five states – Indiana, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania and Virginia – and plans to expand into Kentucky by the fourth quarter.

The realignment includes several new appointments. Ralph Sitterson, previously vice president of claims at Berkley-Mid Atlantic Group, a WR Berkley Company, was named vice president (VP) of loss management. Neal E. Williams, previously of Indiana Farmers Mutual becomes state VP of Indiana. Angela M. Engelke, previously of Cincinnati Insurance, is now state VP of Ohio. Eric W. Wertz, previously of Pickelner Fuel, Pa., becomes operations manager; and Steve J. Blankenship, previously of Westfield Insurance, was named business development manager.

In addition, several top managers were promoted or assigned new responsibilities: Colin R. Buzzard to executive VP of sales and marketing; Joseph P. Joyce to executive VP of property casualty; George C. Wynne to executive VP of corporate development; Lea Ann Hawk to VP of client services; Jacqueline L. Powell to state VP of Pennsylvania; Cheryl S. Brooks to state VP of Virginia; James E. Trotter to state VP of North Carolina; and Glenn P. Pletz to underwriting VP of profitable growth.

KIG Chief Executive Officer David E. Boedker, Sr., said the realignment and new positions will enable the company’s management structure to keep pace with the “rocketing” growth of the organization. “Since the day it was founded in 1983, Keystone has followed two prime directives: provide resources to enable franchise partners to grow the value of their agencies at a more accelerated pace, and to provide a great financial return to those franchisees and employees who entrust the company with their capital,” Boedker said.

In addition to the realignment, the company announced the members of its new 2009 of board of directors, all of whom are franchisee principals of the firm. They are Robert E. Naginey, chairman, Carl D. DeYulis, John M. Duncan Jr., William M. Jones, Thomas J. Parkins, Thomas E. Troutman, Todd N. Roadman and Robert W. Seltzer Jr., all of Pennsylvania; Steven E. Jackson of Indiana; Richard A. Farmar III and Theodore Kuester of Virginia; and James M. Garner of North Carolina.

(888) 688-9880