Carolina Farm Credit Awards $16,000 in Scholarships to N.C. College Students

Statesville, NC (PRWEB) August 11, 2014

The recipients of the 2014-2015 N.C. A&T University-Carolina Farm Credit Scholarships are highlighted below:

Rycal Blount is a junior at N.C. A&T University majoring in animal science. She is a member of the Aggie Chess Club, the Pre-Vet Club, Minorities in Agriculture Natural Resources and Related Sciences (MANNRS), and is a member of the University Honors Program. She is from Greensboro and her parents are Robin Simmons Blount and Roman Blount, III.

Christina Bradshaw is a sophomore at N.C. A&T University majoring in animal science. She is from Sanford, N.C. and is the daughter of Florence Bradshaw and the late Martin A. Jones. She is involved with the Pre-Vet Club, SAES student advocates, and is the RHA Morrow Hall council secretary. After graduation, she plans to attend veterinary school.

Nicholas Cobb is a senior at N.C. A&T University majoring in agribusiness and food supply management. He is originally from Jamestown, N.C. and is the son of Ladonna and Maurice Cobb.

Lakota Maize is a sophomore at N.C. A&T University majoring in early childhood education and family studies. She is the daughter of Garry and Deborah Maize and was born and raised in Greensboro, N.C. She is involved in the Leadership Synergy Program, National Association of Educators, and is Sophomore Class Vice-President for the 2014-2015 school year.

The recipients of the 2014-2015 N.C. State University-Carolina Farm Credit CALS Scholarships are highlighted below:

Christina Harvey is a sophomore at N.C. State University majoring in agricultural business management and horticulture. She is from Haywood County, N.C. where she grew up on her family’s farm. Her parents are Tomas and Carla Harvey of Canton.

Benjamin Hobson is a senior at N.C. State University majoring in biological engineering with a concentration in agriculture engineering. He is from Boonville, N.C. and is the son of Derrick and Angela Hobson. He is planning to return to his family’s farm after graduation.

McKayla Newsome is a sophomore at N.C. State University majoring in animal science. She is from King, N.C. and is the daughter of Brad and Vickie Newsome. She plans to pursue a degree in veterinary medicine, eventually returning to King to work at a veterinary practice, as well as care for the animals on her family’s farm.

Taylor Patterson is a junior at N.C. State University majoring in plant and soil sciences. He is from China Grove, N.C. and is the son of Randall and Nora Patterson. He has worked on his family’s operation, Patterson Farm, Inc., since he was 11 years old. After graduation, he plans to attend graduate school to pursue a master’s degree.

Carolina Farm Credit provides scholarships through the College of Ag and Life Sciences (CALS) at North Carolina State University (NCSU) and the School of Agriculture and Environmental Sciences (SAES) at North Carolina A&T University. Students interested in applying for these scholarships should contact the academic affairs offices at these colleges. In order to be considered, students must have a major in CALS at N.C. State University or SAES at N.C. A&T University and must complete a financial aid application.

Carolina Farm Credit serves over 8,900 members with loans outstanding totaling more than $1.4 billion. The association’s territory covers the western half of North Carolina, with branch offices located in Albemarle, Asheboro, Asheville, Boone, Browns Summit, Burnsville, Carthage, Concord, Conover, Ellerbe, Graham, Hendersonville, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lenoir, Lexington, Lincolnton, Marshall, Mocksville, Monroe, Murphy, Pilot Mountain, Roxboro, Rural Hall, Salisbury, Shelby, Siler City, Sparta, Spindale, Statesville, Taylorsville, Wadesboro, Waynesville, Wilkesboro, Yadkinville, and Yanceyville.

Carolina Farm Credit was recognized as a 2013 Best Employer in North Carolina. The list of the Best Employers in North Carolina was created by Business North Carolina, the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) – NC State Council and Best Companies Group.

Directors for Carolina Farm Credit are Mark A. Bray, Chairman, Lawsonville; L. Kim Starnes, Vice-Chairman, Salisbury; John M. Barnard, Statesville; E. Bernard Beck, Seagrove; W. Rex Bell, Statesville; David M. Coltrane, Pleasant Garden; Susie J. Gambill, Sparta; Joseph A. Lail, Shelby; W. Steve Love, Graham; Bobby J. “Bud” Matthews, East Bend; Clark M. Newlin, Haw River; Thomas E. Porter, Jr., Concord; Tony L. Ragan, Sanford; D. Kaleb Rathbone, Waynesville; Lewis E. Smith, Lincolnton; Vickie N. Smitherman, East Bend; Dr. Alton Thompson, Summerfield.